Anxiety · Depression · God · Prayer

How Prayer Helps Me Cope With Anxiety

I have a very close relationship with God. I’m not super religious, but I rely on the outcomes of my life to stem from God. Sometimes…well, most of the time anxiety gets the best of me. Medications and therapy can only do so much. I figure, if God can create every human being, the stars, and the ocean, he can take away my anxious thoughts. When I have an anxiety episode, that’s exactly what I do, pray.

Everyone who suffers from anxiety and depression handles theirs different. But I wonder if those who are spiritual/religious pray constantly for nagging annoying thoughts to leave their mind. If I were to ask random people if they pray away their issues, how many will say yes? I’ve been a true believer of the power of prayer. No, it’s not magic spells that wipe away problems. It’s simply faith in the unseen and knowing your anxiety disorder will dissolve. When I don’t want to leave my bed or talk to people (because I rather talk to my dog because people suck sometimes but that’s another subject), I feel a pull and a strong voice telling me I’ll be ok. This happens when I pray.

Now, anxiety and depression are not guaranteed to go away. I’ve prayed my whole life it seems for these symptoms to disappear. I still deal with the asshole duo: anxiety disorder and depression. But God provides me with the strength to push forward and manage my issues. For instance, I had a final exam in college that scared me out of my sleep, literally. I had sleepless nights and my mind raced. I remember the urge to ditch my exam all together to avoid the possibility of failing. Once I prayed (plus studied and did my best), I did better than I thought. A sudden calm feeling rushed through me and my mind was focused. The only explanation was my prayer was answered. I was too nervous to calm myself so it had to be God who calmed my anxiety.

I hope those of you who are going through the same problem have a tool to get you through your anxiety disorder or any other disorder. And if you pray it to go away, I believe it will happen for you as I do for myself.

8 thoughts on “How Prayer Helps Me Cope With Anxiety

  1. This post reminds me of Christ’s words below: (Matthew 6:33 – But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.)

    Continue to seek God in prayer. I will be praying that Jesus will continue to replace your anxiety with the peace that comes only from Him.

    You

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

